Poster Session

Coordination and selection is facilitated by the Potato Association of America. Meet the researchers on Tuesday, January 5 from 1:30pm-2:00pm in the Poster Session Expo Hall.

2021 Poster Sessions

Progress toward diploid potato varieties
Jeff Endelman, University of Wisconsin (presenter)
Co-authors: Dave Douches (MSU), Paul Bethke (USDA), C. Robin Buell (MSU), Laura Shannon (UMinn), Paul Mitchell (UWisc), Walter de Jong (Cornell University), Sagar Sathuvalli (OSU), Guanming Shi (UWisc), Ek Han Tan (U Maine)
Contact: Jeff Endelman, email: endelman@wisc.edu


The Potato Association of America - Better potatoes for a better world
Helen Tai
PAA Vice-President
Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
Fredericton, New Brunswick
Canada
Contact: Helen Tai, email: helen.tai@canada.ca


Susceptibility of harvested and stored potatoes to bruise
Rabecka Hendricks, Nora Olsen and Mike Thornton, University of Idaho
Contact: Rabecka Hendricks, email: rhendricks@uidaho.edu


Understanding biological changes in potato tubers treated with sprout inhibitor 1,4-dimethylnaphthalene
Emily Eiss and Michael Campbell
Penn State Erie, The Behrend College
Erie, PA
Contact: Emily Eiss, email: eae5215@psu.edu


Infestation of Potato by Polyphagotarsonemus latus (Tarsonemidae) Mites, Manitoba, Canada
Vikram Bisht, Manitoba Agriculture and Resource Development, Carman, MB Canada
Contact: Vikram Bisht, email: vikram.bisht@gov.mb.ca


Potato mop-top virus: Testing potato variety resistance in a production field
Jonathan Whitworth, Greg Elison, Darren Hall, Rich Novy, Hanu Pappu, and Ying Zhai USDA-ARS, Aberdeen, ID
Contact: Jonathan Whitworth, email: jonathan.whitworth@usda.gov


Thermo-Stability as a Soil Health Indicator in Potato Production
Basso, B., G. Bird, R. Price and M. Otto, Michigan State University
Contact: George Bird, email: birdg@msu.edu


What is a potato soil health cropping system? Update from the SCRI Potato Soil Health Project
Bryn Evin (Oregon State University) and Deana Knuteson (University of Wisconsin – Madison)
Contact: Bryn Evin, email: bryn.evin@oregonstate.edu


Colorado potato beetle steeping in the west: are we prepared yet?
Silvia I. Rondon1, Max Fendelman2, Tiziana Oppedisano1, and Govinda Shrestha1
1Oregon State University, Hermiston Agricultural Research and Extension Center, Hermiston, OR; 2United States Department of Agriculture, Prosser, WA
Contact : Silvia Rondon, email : silvia.rondon@oregonstate.edu


PVY management- a success story from New Brunswick, Canada
Mathuresh Singh, Agricultural Certification Services, Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada
Contact: Mathuresh Singh, email: msingh@potatoesnb.com


Progress in diploid breeding at Michigan State University
Dave Douches, Michigan State University, East Lansing, MI
Contact: David Douches, email: douchesd@msu.edu


Using hyperspectral remote sensing and machine learning for potato nitrogen management
Yi Wang, Nanfeng Liu and Phil Townsend,University of Wisconsin – Madison.
Contact: Yi Wang, email: wang52@wisc.edu